• About QPP

The Honour Wall

Honour Board – Excellence Awards

The establishment of the Honour Board is to recognise individuals from across the state for exceptional contributions made to the work and development of Queensland Positive People from the time of its inception. This award will be called the Queensland Positive People EXCELLENCE AWARD and nominations for consideration will be called for each year. The Board of Directors recommends that up to three awards be considered each year.

The purpose of this award is to recognise excellence for the contribution made by individuals to the work and development of Queensland Positive People. Eligibility for this award covers all individuals who have contributed as a volunteer or member (including all categories of membership) to Queensland Positive People. Board members and staff members are not eligible for the award while in office.

Awards seek to recognise outstanding individual performance, which meets either or both of the following criteria:

  • Has made a significant contribution through an exceptional act or acts above and beyond what is required; and/or
  • Contributed consistently over a substantial period of time to the work of Queensland Positive People in an unselfish, passionate and dedicated manner.

An Honour Board committee will be established, comprising a board member, volunteer (other than board member), staff member and Queensland Health representative.

The final and complete recommendation(s) made by the Honour Board committee will then go to the Queensland Positive People Board of Directors for ratification. If there is indecision between nominees, the final decision must be made by the Honour Board committee and the decision will be final.

To start the process off, the board has determined that the inaugural three people to receive the Queensland Positive People EXCELLENCE AWARD are:

  • Reg Carnell
  • Sister Angela Mary Doyle AO
  • David Bermingham

Reg Carnell

In 1984 the National People Living With AIDS Coalition (NPLWAC) was established. One of the objectives of the organisation was to set up state PLWHA groups around the country, and members of the coalition travelled around the various states to do this – with reasonable success. There were 79 delegates from Queensland at the Hobart Conference – and one of them was Reg Carnell. Members of the first NPLWAC committee included Reg Carnell from Queensland.

Reg Carnell is acknowledged and remembered as one of the Founders of QPP in 1989. Even though, sadly, he is no longer with us, his legacy lives on strongly and the proof of that is in the continuation of the organisation for the past twenty-four years. We hope that wherever he is, he is very proud that we are carrying on his work.

Sister Angela Mary Doyle AO

Born in Cranny, County Clare Ireland. In 1947, at the age of 21, Sister Angela Mary journeyed to Australia to join the Brisbane Congregation of the Sisters of Mercy. Her early work was in teaching, but within 1 year of arriving in Brisbane she had commenced nursing at the Mater Hospitals in Brisbane.

In 1966, Sister Angela Mary was appointed Administrator of three Mater Public Hospitals in Brisbane – a position she held for 21 years.

Her resolute and visionary guidance helped ensure that the mission of the Sisters of Mercy in bringing health care to those who needed it most remained alive and healthy in Brisbane.

As well as championing the Mater Hospital, Sister Angela Mary has also taken a leading role in championing social justice and community accord on other fronts. These include her pioneering work in establishing support and care for people with HIV and AIDS in 1987 – in the face of staunch disapproval from the Government of the day.

Sister Angela Mary’s outstanding contribution to the Mater Hospital and the Queensland and Australian communities have been recognised in many ways, most notably: the Australian Medical Association – Queensland Branch AMA Award of Distinction in 1989; Queenslander of the Year in 1989; Australian Achiever Award, presented by the Prime Minister of Australia in 1990; The Awarding of an Order of Australia (AO) for service to the community, in 1993; Degree of Doctor of the University in 1991; Degree of Doctor of the Queenland University of Technology in 1997; Premiers Millennium Award in Charity/Welfare; and Premier’s Queensland Greats Award in 2001.

David Bermingham

The Hats Off Positive Endeavour (HOPE) Fund was established in February 2006 to provide support to people living with HIV (PLHIV) in Queensland who are in need. The Fund provides small grants of goods and services to PLHIV who are experiencing financial hardship, have a material need and/or are looking to improve their lives.

The Fund is an initiative of Oz Showbiz Cares/Equity Fights AIDS and Queensland Positive People (QPP), in partnership with Queensland Healthy Communities (formerly QAHC), and Anglicare Positive Directions.

HOPE Fund cofounder David Bermingham said Hats Off is a rare opportunity to see world-class artists and support a good cause.

2013 is David’s diamond year in showbiz working with some of the biggest stars. He first trod the boards of theatre at the age of thirteen when he worked as a stooge in a magic act. After three years he joined the Mercury Theatre in Queensland and got his grounding in repertory. At nineteen he joined the Elizabethan Theatre Trust as stage manager, he then moved to J C Williamsons. David then went on to produce his own musical productions at the same time becoming a regular in In Melbourne Tonight. In the sixties he was assistant stage manager to the Old Vic, when it toured Australia Starring Vivien Leigh in ‘The Lady of the Camellia’s’ and Shakespeare’s ‘As You Like It’. In 1974 directed Barry Humphries in ‘Now you can say you saw it’. He returned to Queensland, and for the next 20 years ran his own Theatre Restaurants.

During these years David has chaired the Queensland Variety Club, and until recently was President of the Actors Benevolent Fund and proudly cofounded The HOPE Fund, for those diagnosed with HIV/AIDS. David still remains on the Management Committee.